Change the world

George Campus


Town and gown joined the executive management of Nelson Mandela University, campus management, staff and lecturers to celebrate the outstanding achievements of George Campus students at the annual Academic Merit Awards hosted at the campus recently. 

This year close to a hundred awards were made to 85 students who had maintained an academic average of at least 75% in the previous year of study. The awards were made across faculties that offer programmes at George Campus, including the Faculty of Business and Economic Sciences (BES); Science; Education, and the Faculty of Engineering, the Built Environment and IT (EBEIT).

After a welcoming message by Mr David Alexander, the Campus Principal (Act), a message of inspiration was shared by university doctoral alumnus and lecturer, Dr Sam Webber. 

Prof Denise Zinn, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Teaching and Learning, concluded the formal proceedings with a captivating message of encouragement to the students, and strategic input on the university’s exciting transformational journey.

Prof Hendrik Lloyd, Executive Dean (Act) of the Business and Economic Sciences Faculty, with excelling George Campus BCom and Management, Marketing and Tourism programme students – (f.l.t.r.) Denroy Bloem, Pakami Pungulwa, Zanli Oosthuizen, Lara Ferreira, Lize Muller, Gabrielle Berman, Mpho Teffo, Siphosethu Mgijima, Mariel Daniels, Jason Verity, Lauren Jansen,Petunia Vuma, Luzince de Klerk,  Daniel Cilliers, Thelma Mokoko, Keturah Baartman, Johannes Badenhorst and Anke Meintjes.

Mr David Alexander, Campus Principal (Act), Dr Anton Schmidt, Director of the School of Natural Science Management and Prof Denise Zinn (far right), Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning, with some of the award-winning Agricultural Management students –  (f.l.t.r.) Paul Theunissen, Lindi van Blerk,  Thandani Mthethwa, Matthew Payn, Laurie Miller and Quinton Tarr.

Beaming with pride… BTech Forestry-students, Heinrich Hechter (left) and Simo Kupa (3rd from right) and excelling members of the third-year Forestry class – Tertius Venter (third from left), Zamadlamini Dlamini, Ace Dlamini, Ayanda Buthelezi and Sibongumenzi Ncube, with an equally proud Dr Anton Schmidt (2nd from left), Prof Denise Zinn and Mr David Alexander.

Changing face of Nature Conservation… Rebecca Ryan (international student), Hannah Basson, Nicole Blignaut, Minou Meyer-Scharrer (international student), Dalene de Villiers, Abigail Pieters, Marle Munro, Rogan Bryce, Shimune Smit and Phila Ngwilikane with Dr Anton Schmidt (left), Prof Denise Zinn (right) and Mr David Alexander (4th from left)

Mr David Alexander (centre) , flanked by budding Wood Technologists, Ambani Tshidzumba (4th from left)  and Portia Gonyela (5th from right). Both excelled in the third (final) year of their Diploma: Wood Technology studies, while Hercules Malan (4th from right) is off to good start, having also completed his first year studies with distinction. Sharing the podium are excelling students in another unique offering - the Higher Certificate: Veldfire Management – (f.l.t.r.) Dr Anton Schmidt (SNRM) with Thembeka Notshikila, Lihle Mfekheto, and Prof Denise Zinn (far right) with Sam Sikhosana and Matthew Kingma.

The exciting new offering -- Higher Certificate: Information Technology (User Support Services) – also saw a number of students graduating with distinction. Two of the excelling students Dakalo Munonde (3rd from left) and Siphamandla Kelenjani, joined the Campus Principal (Act), Mr David Alexander, programme co-ordinator Ms Alta du Plessis, Prof Denise Zinn, Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Teaching and Learning, and lecturer Chester Moolman (far right) to share their pride in their excellent study outcomes.

Partners in education… Elated  B Ed (FET) graduate, Kamy Human (3rd from left) who excelled in her final year of studies, with (f.l.t.r.) Prof Denise Zinn, Deputy Vice-Chancellor; Teaching and Learning; Dr Muki Moeng, Dean of the Faculty of Education; Ms Melony Oliphant (Administrator), Dr Heloise Sathorar (B Ed FET Head of Programme), Prof Nokhanyo Mayaba (Director of School for Initial Teacher Education) and Mr David Alexander, Campus Principal (Act).

Full-house…The Academic Merit Awards presented in acknowledgement of academically excelling students studying at George Campus of Nelson Mandela University was well supported by key stakeholders from the community, university management, staff and students.

Lecturer, Dr Sam Webber, shared a motivational message with the awards recipients and guests.

Awardees were treated to the soothing voices of the Campus Choir who contributed further to the celebratory mood of the Academic Merit Awards event at the George Campus.

Marketing Alumnus, Mr Thami Douse, demonstrated his flair as the programme director for the George Campus Academic Merit Awards event.


Contact information
Mr Thami Douse