Change the world


Ten staff members at NMMU George Campus, who collectively notched up more than a century’s service at the university, were congratulated by the Campus Principal, Prof Quinton Johnson at a staff function recently.

Recipients who responded to Prof Johnson’s message all touched on the golden thread – the collegiality and mutual support which characterised their “journey” at the university through the years.


The recipients who were present to receive their awards were, (f.l.t.r.)  Gerald Lourens from Technical Services (25 years’ service); Sonia Roets (5), Administrative Support staff in the  School of Natural Resource Management;  Sr Mietjie Kock (10) from NMMU George Health Services; Marketing Lecturer, Adele Potgieter (5);  Lynette Williams from ICT Services (20); Hugo Loubser, Sport Manager (25 years’ service) and Prof Johnson (Campus Principal).

Dr Jaap Steenkamp (10 years), Ilona Joshua (Support Staff member with 5 years’ service), and  NMMU George Residence Manager, Vuyiswa Mentile-Gozongo (also 5 years’ service), were not able to attend the ceremony.