Change the world


Nelson Mandela University's George Campus has again acknowledged sterling examples of excellent student leadership at its annual Achievers Awards function held recently.  
On 25 October 2018, 29 awards were made to students or student societies that had excelled in excellence across all spheres of student life at the George campus.

Awards were made in the categories of Student Governance and Development, Arts and Culture, Residences, Sport and overall student leadership - a highlight being the Campus Principal Leadership Excellence Award.  

Campus Principal Leadership Excellence Award

The recipients in the female and male category of the prestigious Campus Principal Leadership Excellence Award, were Linamandla Petse, a second year Diploma: Marketing student and Lisakhanya Ndovela, a master’s student in Science of Forestry, with a passion for wood and Wood Technology. This award acknowledges the students for their proven leadership in various spheres and significant contributions to student life. Four nominees were shortlisted for this prestigious accolade.

More about Linamandla Petse

Linamandla – a 2nd year student in the Diploma: Marketing, has, within a relatively short space of time entrenched her footprint both on campus and in the community. She has held various leadership positions on campus, such as Secretary of the Discover Life Society and the relevant House Committee and has also served as the 2018 Treasurer of the Local Student Representative Council. The Rosemore Home for the Aged is amongst the community organisations that have benefitted from her personal involvement.

More about Lisakhanya Ndovela

Lisakhanya, and excelling student who completed his studies in record time, has, from his first year of study, repeatedly been elected as class representative.He participated in the World Forestry Congress and Southern African Regional Meeting of the International Student Forestry Association in 2015.  During 2018 he was part of the How2Buddy orientation programme, elected as chairperson of the Society of Sustainable Timber Management (SYSTIM) which was established with the aim of establishing mutually beneficial links between the students, industry and the community. He recently participated in the ECOSOLA (Ecosystem-based solution for resilient urban agriculture in Africa), Summer school project in Germany.

On the sport scene he has played in the varsity soccer and hockey clubs and also represented the university at athletics meetings. He excelled in the recent Half Marathon held on campus.

Lisakhanya is very creative and also has a flare for art, which earned him a part-time job in a furniture and upholstery factory while he was studying. He was one of the demonstrators in the recent symposium of the Association of Woodturners of South Africa (AWSA).

Student Housing Awards:

  • House Committee Member of the Year – Sinesipho Mketo and Busiswa Stemela
  • Residence of the Year – Pampoenkraal  and Windheuwel 10
  • Residence All-rounder of the Year – Avela Lukani
  • Living & Learning of the Year – Thabiso Makhathini

Arts & Culture Awards:     

  • Arts & Culture Member of the Year – Scelo Dludla and Nkosiyazi Ximba
  • Arts & Culture Society of the Year – Expressive Rhythm Society
  • Arts & Culture Choir Member of the Year – Asisipho Malawana

Student Governance & Development Awards:

  • Society Administrator of the Year – Talente Mnqobi
  • Religious Society of the Year – Student Christian Organisation
  • Developmental Society of the Year – Student Entrepreneurial Society
  • Recreational Society of the Year – Expressionist Society
  • Society of the Year – Society for Sustainable Timber Management (SYSTIM) & Chess Society
  • Student Council Member of the Year – Linamandla Petse

The Chairpersons of the societies received the awards on behalf of the society, while the award for George Campus All-rounder of the Year was scooped by Ms Linamandla Petse.

Sport Excellence Awards

Several sporting codes vied for attention at this year’s Achievers Awards. The coveted Sportsman of the Year Award was shared between cricket ace, Jean du Plessis (SWD Senior, SA U/19) and John Kuhn who, amongst others, was selected for the USSA Squash Team.

Sport Merit Awards

All in all seven individual Sport Merit Awards for excellence in sport codes recognised by the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) were made. They have all achieved at least senior provincial colours in the respective codes. 

The recipients were:

  • SWD Senior Cricket: Jean du Plessis, who also played for the SA U/19 Team and Hendrik Kotze.
  • Eden District Hockey: Cameron de Oliveira, Abu Effendi, Tyler Boltman and Francelise Maartens.
  • USSA Team, Squash: John Kuhn.

Congratulations Madibaz!

Contact information
Ms Alet van Tonder
Manager: Marketing & Corporate Relations
Tel: 27 44 801 5098