Change the world


Top performing NMMU George Campus BCom Accounting students of the 2015 Academic Year were acknowledged at the annual School of Accounting BCom George Excellence Awards on 17 February 2016. The event, held in partnership with SAICA (Southern African Institute of Chartered Accountants) Southern Cape District Association and industry partners in the Southern Cape region, also served to reflect on the phenomenal growth and excellent outcomes of these sought after programmes, ten years after being introduced at the George Campus.

“We take pride in the fact that NMMU’s Accounting programmes, including the ones established here at our George Campus ten years ago, have, after a rigorous monitoring process, undertaken by SAICA’s panel of experts in 2014, been awarded the highest level of professional accreditation by this professional body – an affirmation of the quality of our Accounting programmes.  It is therefore not surprising that, because of our unique approach to developing our students’ knowledge and skills focusing on the student as an individual not just a number, that our BCom Accounting graduates across all our campuses, including our pristine George Campus, are in demand by employers” said Prof Frans Prinsloo, Director of the NMMU School of Accounting, on congratulating the students.


“The quality of our George Campus programmes in general, and within our BCom offerings in particular, is indeed reflected in the outstanding academic achievements of our students, and our excellent pass rates. In addition, we continue to attract high calibre students and staff to our campus.  I am very proud of our bright students and brilliant lecturers who have amazing competence, unswerving commitment and impeccable character. Moreover, I also wish to thank our industry partners for the superb role they continue to play in supporting the development of our students and creating dynamic opportunities for them to pursues their exciting careers” said Prof Quinton Johnson, Campus Principal.


No less than 111 subject distinctions were attained by 51 BCom Accounting students in their 1st, 2nd and 3rd years of study respectively, while more than twenty trophies and industry prizes were presented to students for attaining best performances in a variety of categories, including the SAICA Big Five Special Awards and Victor Ladorum accolades for Auditing (prize by Ernst & Young), Management Accounting (prize by Bolton F/Ware) and Taxation (prize by Mazars). All of these accolades were scooped by Gizelle Potgieter, a recipient of the prestigious NMMU Vice-Chancellor’s scholarship for outstanding academic achievement.  Potgieter, who is now pursuing her honours degree at NMMU in Port Elizabeth, was also acknowledged as the Top Year  Student (in the 3rd year of BCom Accounting study – prize by LumenRock), as well as the top student in the subject Accounting (3rd year – prize by Grant Thornton).


The other excelling Top Year Students were Pertunia Rakgotsoka and Janneke Louw who scooped the SAICA prize for 1st and 2nd year Extended BCom Accounting and General Accounting respectively. Natalie Fourie and Moreeda Parker, another VC Scholar, received the Moore Stephens (George) and Leask prizes for being the top 1st and 2nd year BCom Accounting students respectively.


The top year students for BCom General Accounting in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd year of study were Azola Jubisa (prize by Mazars), Sandisiwe Mkweta (Moore Stephens, George) and Ruth Gil (Oakhurst insurance).  Besides 3rd year student, Gizelle Potgieter, accolades for the top BCom Accounting students in the 1st and 2nd year went to the two VC Scholars,  Liezel Nel ( Moore Stephens Humansdorp) and Moreeda Parker (Ernst & Young).


Parker was also awarded a prize by the George Business Chamber for being the best Student in Ethics and Corporate Governance.


As part of the evening’s celebrations students who achieved module distinctions (a staggering 111 in total) during the 2015 academic year were honoured with a financial incentive from Deloitte and their names will also be captured on the Deloitte Roll of Honour. Congratulations to the 51 students who contributed to this noteworthy feat:

Gizelle Potgieter, Anneke Smit, Ruth Gil, Moreeda Parker, Suzanne Smit, Sandisiwe Twala, Emile de Bruyn, Herman Vermeulen, Jason Potgieter, Bianca Viviers, Lebone Theko, Mihle Zihle, Lutho Matiwane, Lelethu Ralarala, Liezel Nel, Natalie Fourie, Devin du Plooy, Elmarie Hurter, Schalk Kotze, Micaela Chevalier, Siviwe Hookwana, Laverne Kok, Wian Meyer, Alzaan Patrick, Siphosihle Thomas, Jano van den Berg, Danielle Cupido, Azola Jubisa, Mdumiseni Nkosi, Amorey Pieterse, Christiaan Dreyer, Eadon Frans, Samantha Gqadushe,  Marthinus Loubser, Lettie Maruping, Mikateko Mawila, Ntengoenhle Memela, Ruan Oosthuysen, Lee-Ann Scheepers, Ruben Swanepoel, Nicole Swiggelaar, Thendo Tshivenga, Janneke Louw, Pertunia Rakgotsoka, Allistine Arends, Kaylin Saptouw, Brad-Gilbert Saaiman, Dillon Plaatjies, Anjee Snyman, Christen Belling and Donovan Mclean.


Excelling Accounting students – all of them recipients of the NMMU Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship (front, from left)... Emile de Bruyn (second from left), Gizelle Potgieter  Liezel Nel and Moreeda Parker were congratulated by Mr Sven Wüsthoff, Departmental Head for Accounting Sciences (left),  Prof Frans Prinsloo (second from right), Director of NMMU’s School of Accounting,  and an equally proud NMMU George Campus Principal, Prof Quinton Johnson (far right).


Proud moment…  Top third year BCom Accounting George student, Gizelle Potgieter, also scooped the SAICA Big Five Special Awards and Victor Ladorum accolades for Auditing, Management Accounting and Taxation at the annual BCom Accounting Excellence Awards. Potgieter, who is now pursuing her honours degree at NMMU in Port Elizabeth, was also acknowledged as the top student in the subject Accounting. Sharing in this proud moment were Prof Quinton Johnson (left), the NMMU George Campus Principal; Prof Frans Prinsloo, Director: NMMU School of Accounting; and Mr Sven Wüsthoff, HoD for Accounting Sciences at NMMU.


Accolades to the trophy winners - top performing students across the various years of study in the BCom Accounting Programmes at NMMU George Campus celebrated their exceptional achievements at the annual excellence awards held on 17 February 2016 for the “Class of 2015”.    Featured f.l.t.r. (back) are Moreeda Parker, Sandisiwe Mkweta, Natalie Fourie, Ruth Gil, and (in front f.l.t.r.) Liezel Nel, Gizelle Potgieter, Azola Jubisa and Pertunia Rakgotsoka. Janneke Louw was absent when the photo was taken.  This group was also amongst the 51 students who jointly achieved 111 module distinctions and whose names will be captured on the prestigious Deloitte Roll of Honour.

Contact information
Ms Alet van Tonder
Manager: Marketing & Corporate Relations
Tel: 27 44 801 5098