Change the world


Congratulations to the academic staff of the Forestry and Wood Technology programmes who were awarded with a prestigious Teaching and Learning Team Award during the annual NMMU Research and Teaching Awards function held in Port Elizabeth recently.

The annual awards – a highlight on the university calendar – celebrates the achievements of top academics in the fields of research, teaching, the creative and performing arts, innovation and engagement.

Upon hearing the good news, Tiaan Pool, Programme Coordinator of the Forestry programme at NMMU George Campus, said: “The Forestry & Wood Technology team’s success is imbedded in a well-structured partnership between three stakeholders in the teaching and learning landscape, namely NMMU, the student and the Forest Industry we serve. The secret to the success of our programme lies in the knowledge that these three stakeholders are all dependent on each other.”

According to the university’s Teaching and Learning Excellence Awards policy, the award aims to:

  • Show recognition at an institutional level for academic and professional support staff members who collaborate as a team to achieve excellence in teaching and learning, the enhancement of student success and development and/or the student experience.
  • Identify teams of academics and professional support staff who are able to provide leadership in innovation in teaching and learning, enhancing student success and development and the quality of the student experience.
  • Generate debate and awareness at an institutional level about the role of team teaching and what constitutes excellence with regards to enhancing student success and development and the quality of the student experience.

Team Forestry & Wood Technology

THE PROUD TEAM… Back: Prof Jos Louw, Barry Muller, Andrew McEwan, Willie Louw, Dr Jaap Steenkamp; Front: Dr Keith Little, Tiaan Pool, Richard Müller

Contact information
Ms Alet van Tonder
Manager: Marketing & Corporate Relations
Tel: 27 44 801 5098