Change the world


For the third year in a row the Sport Office of NMMU in George will host the top surfing students of tertiary institutions from around South Africa at the iconic Victoria Bay.

The action kicks-off with two days of heats on Wednesday, 27- and Thursday, 28 June with the last round of heats and all-important finals scheduled for Friday, 29 June. Each day’s surfing activities will start at 08:00.

According to Hugo Loubser, the Sport Manager at NMMU George, “It is, indeed a great honour for NMMU George to host this prestigious event for the third successive time and we are looking forward to an exciting SA Student Champs.”

For the first time in the event’s history a team from NMMU George will participate. First year students in the Faculty of Business & Economic Sciences at NMMU in George, Jana de Jager and Juan Reynierse, will represent the local campus.

De Jager matriculated from Outeniqua High School, while Reynierse finished his schooling at Nico Malan High School in Humansdorp.

A total of seven teams, namely Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (PE), NMMU (George), University of Cape Town, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, University of Stellenbosch, Rhodes University and Varsity College, will take part in this year’s SA University Surfing Championship.

Five trophies will be awarded in three categories, specifically for the best individual performance in the men’s- and ladies’ category, best team performance for a men’s- and ladies’ team and the trophy for the best university where the men’s- and ladies’ points are combined.

With both of last year’s prize-winners for the best individual performance back at this year’s event spectators can look forward to a thrilling competition.

“In fact in the men’s category all four finalists from the 2011 event are back to compete in this year’s event,” said Loubser.